Skip to content Skip to navigation

Confirming Eligibility for Family Members

We are required to verify your dependents before approving their enrollment in your health plans. Below is a list of acceptable documentation you can provide to certify any family members you cover under your benefits. We will only accept documentation that is in English or has been translated to English. You may translate documents not in English yourself, but you must have them notarized before submitting them for review.

You have 31 days from the date you added dependents to your health plans to provide dependent eligibility documentation. You do this by uploading documentation to Benelogic using the File Cabinet tool. We cannot approve your request to add dependents to your health plans without the required documentation.

Dependent’s Relationship to You Preferred Documentation Alternate Documentation Document Resources
Spouse, same or opposite sex, (unless legally separated) Marriage certificate Most recent State (joint) tax return; or
Most recent visa document; and related legal document that establishes dependent relationship
  • County Clerk/Recorder
  • State Vital Records
  • Personal tax filing records
  • U.S. State Department
Registered Domestic Partner State of California Declaration of Domestic Partnership Certificate Most recent CA (joint) tax return State of California website
Common Law Spouse Affidavit; or Declaration of Common Law Marriage; or other state legal affidavits or declarations Most recent state (joint) tax return
  • County Clerk/Recorder
  • State Vital Records
Natural Children up to age 26 Birth certificate Most recent State tax return; and Hospital certificate of live birth; or Most recent Visa document; and related legal documents that establish dependent relationship and birth date
  • County Clerk/Recorder
  • State Vital Records
  • Personal tax filing records
  • U.S. State Department
*For newborns added within 31 days of their birth you are allowed to provide just the hospital certificate of live birth
Stepchild(ren) up to age 26 Birth certificate and marriage certificate Most recent State (joint) tax return; or
Most recent Visa document; and related legal documents that establish dependent relationship and birth date
  • County Clerk/Recorder
  • State Vital Records
  • Personal tax filing records
  • U.S. State Department
Adopted Child(ren) up to age 26 Birth certificate; or Final adoption decree; or
Placement letter from court; or Adoption agency for pending adoption(s)
Most recent State tax return; or
Most recent Visa document; and related legal documents that establish dependent relationship and birth date
  • County Clerk/Recorder
  • State Vital Records
  • Personal tax filing records
  • U.S. State Department
Your Foster Child(ren) up to age 26 Court assignment; or Agency order establishing relationship; or Proof of state licensing; or Approval of foster child status and related legal document that establishes birth date N/A
  • County Clerk/Recorder
  • State Vital Records
  • U.S. State Department
Child(ren) up to age 26 for whom you are a legal guardian Court assignment; or Agency order establishing legal guardianship and related legal documents that establish relationship and birth date Most recent State (joint) tax return; or
Most recent Visa document; and related legal documents that establish dependent relationship and birth date
  • County Clerk/Recorder
  • State Vital Records
  • Personal tax filing records
  • U.S. State Department
Child(ren) up to age 26 of your Registered Domestic Partner, who depends on your support and lives with you in a regular parent/child relationship State of California Declaration of Domestic Partnership Certificate and birth certificate Most recent California (joint) tax return; or Most recent Visa document; and related legal documents that establish dependent relationship and birth date
Adopted child(ren) up to age 26 of your Registered Domestic Partner, who depend on your support and live with you in a regular parent/child relationship State of California Declaration of Domestic Partnership Certificate; and
Birth certificate; or Final adoption decree; or
Placement letter from court or adoption agency for pending adoptions
Most recent California (joint) tax return; or Most recent Visa document; and related legal documents that establish dependent relationship and birth date
Children up to age 26 for whom your Registered Domestic Partner is the legal guardian State of California Declaration of Domestic Partnership Certificate; and
Birth certificate; and Court assignment; or Agency order establishing legal guardianship
Most recent California (joint) tax return; or Most recent Visa document; and related legal documents that establish dependent relationship and birth date
Child(ren) up to age 26 for whom the court has issued a Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO) Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO). If already submitted to Stanford University, indicate to whom it was sent. N/A
  • County Clerk/Recorder
  • State Vital Records
Unmarried children age 26 or over if dependent on you for primary financial support and maintenance due to a physical or mental disability, incapable of self-support, and disability existed before age 19 Birth certificate or other document supporting the relationship; and Proof of the disability from your child’s medical plan. Note: This audit verifies only dependent eligibility. Your medical carrier determines the child’s disability status. Most recent state tax return
  • County Clerk/Recorder
  • State Vital Records
  • Personal tax filing records
  • U.S. State Department